gtd next-actions

For years now, I’ve kept the following directory structure to support my gtd workflow:

gtd/
   done.otl
   next_actions.otl
   someday_maybe.otl
   waiting_on.otl
   Projects/
   Reference/
   tickler/

I’ve discussed the tickler folder before. But while I like having the next_actions.otl file, I feel it’s stopping me from really following the gtd workflow. I tend to ignore some of the things under Projects/, as I have to manually look through those to find a next action.

So I’m going to try something a bit different. I’m going to not have a next_actions file. Rather, I’ll tag items in files under Projects/ with with ‘nextaction:’, and use ~/bin/nextactions which is basically just

grep -r "^nextaction" $HOME/gtd/Projects

Now that doesn’t make me look at files not having next actions, but it keeps me working under ~/gtd/Projects rather than keeping next_actions.otl open in an editor, which otherwise is the temptation. I can also easily print out all top-level files or directories which don’t have a nextaction in or under them,

====================================================
#!/bin/bash

d=$HOME/gtd/Projects

for f in $d/*; do
	grep -rq "^nextaction" $f
	if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
		echo $f
	fi
done
====================================================

so I can trivially see which project I’ve ignored. Yikes, 23 of them.

We’ll see, I may not like it. For instance, it may seem more awkward cut-pasting things into gtd/done.otl But I think it could improve my workflow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

