Emulating tagged views in unity

I like tagged tiling window managers. I like tiling because it lets me avoid tedious window move+resize. I like tagged wm because I can add multiple tags to windows so that different tag views can show different subsets of my windows – irc and mail, irc and task1, task1 and browsers, task2 and email…

Unity doesn’t tile, but has the grid plugin which is quite nice. But what about a tagged view? There used to be a compiz plugin called group. In the past when I’ve tried it it didn’t seem to quite fit my needs, but beyond that I couldn’t find it in recent releases.

I briefly considered building it straight into unity, but I really just wanted something to work with < 1 hr work. So I implemented it as a script, winmark. Winmark takes a single-character mark (think of marking in vi, ma, 'a) and stores or restores the layout of the currently un-minimized windows under that mark (in ~/.local/share/winmark/a). Another tiny c program grabs the keyboard to read a mark character, then calls winmark with that character.

So now I can hit shift-F9 a to store the current layout, set up a different layout, hit shift-f9 b to store that, then restore them with F9 a and F9 b.

I’m not packaging this right now as I *suspect* this is the sort of thing noone but me would want. However I’m mentioning it here in case I’m wrong. The source is at lp:~serge-hallyn/+junk/markwindows.

There’s definite room for improvement, but I’ve hit my hour time limit, and it is useful as is :) Potential improvements would include showing overlay previews as with application switching, and restoring the stacking order.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emulating tagged views in unity

  1. elmo ranas says:

    wmfs + firefox(Pentadactyl) combo is an unbeatable choice for me.

Leave a Reply

