Upcoming Qemu changes for 14.04

Qemu 2.0 is looking to be released on April 4. Ubuntu 14.04 closes on April 10, with release on April 17. How’s that for timing. Currently the qemu package in trusty has hundreds of patches, the majority of which fall into two buckets – old omap3 patches from qemu-linaro, and new aarch64 patches from upstream.

So I’d like to do two things. FIrst, I’d like to drop the omap3 patches. Please please, if you need these, let me know. I’ve hung onto them, without ever hearing from any user who wanted them, since the qemu tree replaced both the qemu-kvm and qemu-linaro packages.

Second, I’ve filed for a FFE to hopefuly get qemu 2.0 into 14.04. I’ll be pushing candidate packages to ppa:ubuntu-virt/candidate hopefully starting tomorrow. After a few days, if testing seems ok, I will put out a wider call for testing. After -rc0, if testing is going great, I will start pushing rc’s to the archive, and maybe, just maybe, we can call 2.0 ready in time for 14.04!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Upcoming Qemu changes for 14.04

  1. That is AWESOME!! Thanks!! I can’t wait to build my IceHouse OpenStack powered by Qemu 2.0 and IPv6! :-D

Leave a Reply

