Vimprobable web browser

vimprobable has been mentioned in the comments of this blog before. It’s a fast webkit-based browser navigated mainly with vi bindings based originally on vimperator.

I’ve had it packaged for a while now, but it had a few bugs keeping me from evangelizing it. The worst was that, frequently, clicking on an input field would not enable insert mode, and thereafter switching to insert mode seemed impossible. That is now fixed, and I see no remaining nuisances.

So, I believe the package is ready for use. It ships with an apparmor profile, and I use this config

	set homepage=file:///home/serge/homepage.html
	set plugins=false
	set scripts=false
	set java=false
	set images=true
	set caret=true
	set proxy=false
	map <C-p>=:set plugins=true
	map <C-s>=:set scripts=true
	map <C-j>=:set java=true
	set defaultsearch=d

to disable javascript and plugins by default, with ctrl-s turning javascript back on. I will probably ITP it for debian soon, but for now it is packaged at ppa:serge-hallyn/vimprobable.

At this point, I use pentadactyl (firefox) to watch tv and for launchpad and wiki interaction. That’s because ctrl-I brings a text field up in gvim, which is just too handy, and I’ve not coded that for vimprobable. But I use vimprobable for everything else.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vimprobable web browser

  1. Is vimprobable only for linux ? Anyone compiled/run it on OSX ?

  2. Pingback: » Software to Watch: Vi Everywhere! Linux Sagas

  3. I cannot bring myself to use the interweb without adblocking. firefox is the least annoying in-app adblocking

    how are you adblocking in this setup?

    🙂

    A less masochistic use of LXC for ‘simply’ firefox would soothe us sandboxie refugees 😉

    cheers

  4. I cannot bring myself to use the interweb without adblocking. firefox is the least annoying in-app adblocking

    how are you adblocking in this setup?

    🙂

Leave a Reply

